Northeastern State University
NSU Picturee

Northeastern State University
600 N. Grand Avenue
Tahlequah, OK 74461

Control: Public

Northeastern State University (NSU) traces its history from the establishment of a National Male Seminary and National Female Seminary by the Cherokee National Council in 1846. As a result of actions by the State Legislature of Oklahoma in the years since 1907, NSU is an integral part of The Oklahoma State System of Higher Education. The university is widely recognized for the quality of its teacher education program graduates.

NSU offers a traditional 4 year campus experience at the main campus in Tahlequah as well as upper division courses at the other two NSU campuses located in Muskogee and Broken Arrow. All education programs are nationally approved and the unit is fully accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. 

President: Dr. Don Betz

Chief Academic Officer: Dr. Dalton Bigbee

Unit: College of Education

Dean or Director: Dr. Kay Grant

Telephone: 918-456-5511 ext. 3701
Fax: 918-458-2351
E-Mail: grantkl@nsuok.edu

OACTE Representative: Dr. Kay Grant
Alternate OACTE Representative: 1-Dr. Pam Fly 2-Dr. Christee Jenlink

Accreditation Status and Programs Offered

Conceptual Framework: Northeastern State University prepares professional educators to be teaching scholars, educational leaders and developers of human potential.


Back to Institutions List


Press releases, information, web links, and news articles on these web pages are not necessarily supported by the OACTE or its members.
Material is presented for the benefit of the reader only and is not intended to be used for any particular purpose.
Send e-mail to rwstewart@opsu.edu, webmaster, with questions or comments about this web site.
Date last updated: October 1, 2009


April 13, 2009